↓ Expand ↓

Category → Chemical History

Celebrating Chemistry in the Year of the Rabbit

Happy Chinese New Year! Or Gong Xi Fa Chai (if, like me, you speak Mandarin), or Gong Hey Fat Choy (if you speak Cantonese).

Credit: Shutterstock

People who are born in the Year of the Rabbit are said to be mild and generous, gracious and dignified. They are noted for their compassion and strong sense of sympathy. They are also alert and persevering, making for good work and life companions.

According to the Chinese zodiac, the Year of the Rabbit arrives every 12 years: 1831, 1843, 1855, 1867, 1879, 1891, 1903, 1915, 1927, 1939, 1951, 1963, 1975, 1987, 199, and, of course, 2011.

Chemistry Nobel Laureates who were born in the Year of the Rabbit include:

Ada E. Yonath (b. 1939)
Yonath shared the 2009 Chemistry Nobel with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz for their studies of the structure and function of the ribosome.

Alan G. MacDiarmid (1927–2007)
MacDiarmid shared the 2000 prize with Alan Heeger for their discovery and development of conductive polymers.

Sir Harold W. Kroto (b. 1939)
Kroto shared the 1996 prize with Robert F. Curl Jr. and Richard E. Smalley for their discovery of fullerenes. Continue reading →